Department Leadership


Department Directory

These curators from the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History serve as graduate research directors or committee members as part of the Weintraub-funded Systematics, Evolution and Ecology Program.


Matthew Carrano — Paleobiology (Adjunct GW Faculty)

Kevin de Queiroz — Reptiles and Amphibians (Adjunct GW Faculty)

Kristian Fauchald — Invertebrate Zoology (Adjunct GW Faculty)

Lynne Parenti — Fishes (Adjunct GW Faculty)

David Pawson — Invertebrate Zoology (Adjunct GW Faculty)

Lawrence Skog — Botany

Hans-Dieter Sues — Paleobiology (Adjunct GW Faculty)

F. Christian Thompson — Entomology (United States Department of Agriculture Systematic Entomology Laboratory) (Adjunct GW Faculty)

Stan Weitzman — Fishes (Adjunct GW Faculty)

  • Michelle Ahn
  • Megan Barela Hudgell
  • Adrian Britt
  • Katrin Bode
  • Rebecca Clement 
  • Thiago da Silva Morieira
  • Shawn DeNarie
  • Vincent Ficarrotta 
  • Nureen Ghuznavi 
  • Keylie Gibson 
  • Nicolas Hazzi
  • Catriona Hendry 
  • Justus Jobe
  • Stephanie Keer 
  • Eric Kenney
  • Emily Kottler
  • Zhanar Kudaiberenova 
  • Siddharth Kulkarni 
  • Matthew Lefauve 
  • Nico MacDougall 
  • Aidan Manubay
  • Santiago Meneses 
  • Reeham Motaher 
  • Bryan Nguyen
  • Yaprak Ozakman 
  • Carol Peretz
  • Rose Peterson 
  • Jignasha Rana
  • Ryan Spahn
  • Josef Stiegler 
  • Joshua Storch 
  • Ghada Tafesh
  • Tendolkar Amruta 
  • Yaparla Amulya 


Office Hours

Every semester, professors set aside time for student visits. These hours are an opportunity to ask questions, discuss ideas for projects or research and get to know the faculty.


Jim Clark
Lisner Hall 415
Tuesday 2–3 p.m.
Peter Nassar
Monday and Wednesday 1:30–2:10 p.m.
Keith Crandall
SEH 7000D
Tuesday and Thursday 11 a.m.– noon
Damien O’Halloran
Bell 307
Wednesday 2–5 p.m.
Hartmut Doebel
SEH 312
Tuesday 2:30–4 p.m., Thursday 3:30–5 p.m.
Jelena Patrnogic
Bell 310
Monday & Friday 10 a.m.–11 a.m. or by appointment

Ioannis Eleftherianos
SEH 5675
Monday 4–6 p.m. or by appointment

Scott Powell
SEH 6550
By appointment via email

Leon Grayfer
SEH 1800
By appointment
Alex Pyron
Lisner 414
Mon/Fri 11 a.m.–1 p.m.
Patricia Hernandez
SEH 8750
Monday 12:30–1:30 p.m. or by appointment
Tara Scully
Bell 311
Monday 5:15–6:15 p.m., Tuesday 2–3 p.m.
Gustavo Hormiga
Lisner 412 or Bell 405
By appointment
Adam Smith
By appointment
Carly Jordan
MV, Academic Building,
Room 202A
Monday 11 a.m.–noon, Thursday 3–4 p.m.
L. Courtney Smith
SEH 5690
By appointment
Diana Lipscomb
Lisner 413
Tuesday and Thursday 3:45–5 p.m. or by appointment
Richard Tollo
Bell 101B
Monday and Wednesday 9–11 a.m.
Mollie Manier
SEH 6680
Wednesday 10:30–12:30 p.m.
Halli Weiner
Bell 312
Wednesday noon–2 p.m.
Arnaud Martin
SEH 6480
Wednesday 2–3 p.m.
Amy Zanne
SEH 8750
Wednesday 12:30 p.m., after class and by appointment
Jonathan Murphy
Bell Hall 310
Thursday 11:05 a.m. –1:05 p.m.