Biology Seminars

Each Friday during the academic year the department offers a seminar featuring special speakers and visiting scholars. Seminars are held at 3:30 pm in SEH B1220.

Faculty

 
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

Dr. Ken Brown
Ken M. Brown

Professor Emeritus of Biology and Genetics
kmb@gwu.edu
 
Role of catecholamines and serotonin in embryogenesis
Dr. John Burns
John Burns

Professor Emeritus of Zoology
jrburns@gwu.edu
 
Reproductive biology and comparative morphology of fishes
Dr. Jim Clark
Jim Clark

Ronald Weintraub Professor of Biology
jclark@gwu.edu
 
Fossil vertebrates from the age of dinosaurs
Dr. Keith Crandall
 
Development and testing through computer simulation of methods for the analysis of DNA sequence data
Dr. Hartmut Doebel
Hartmut Doebel

Assistant Professor of Biology
hdoebel@gwu.edu
 
Population ecology, predator-prey interactions, wetland ecology, and the biology of pollinators
Dr. Rob Donaldon
Rob Donaldson

Chair, Professor of Biology
robdon@gwu.edu
 
Plant biochemistry and proteins of peroxisomes
Dr. Ioannis Eleftherianos
 
Associate Professor of Molecular Biology
 
Insect infection and immunity
Dr. Catherine Forster
 
Paleontology and systematics of dinosaurs
Dr. Keryn Gedan
Keryn Gedan

Professor of Ecology
kgedan@gwu.edu
 
Ecology of coastal ecosystems and ecological consequences of human impacts
Dr. Leon Grayfer
Leon Grayfer

Assistant Professor of Biology
leon_grayfer@gwu.edu
 
Comparative immunity and antimicrobial defenses of poikilothermic vertebrates
Dr. LaTisha Hammond
LaTisha Hammond

Assistant Professor of Honors and Biology
lmhammond@gwu.edu
 
Pedagogical strategies and climate change education
Dr. Patricia Hernandez
Patricia Hernandez

Associate Professor of Biology
phernand@gwu.edu
 
Functional morphology and anatomy of vertebrates
Dr. Gustavo Hormiga
Gustavo Hormiga

Ruth Weintraub Professor of Biology
hormiga@gwu.edu
 
Systematics of spiders
Dr. Aleksandar Jeremic
Aleksandar Jeremic

Associate Professor of Biology
jerema@gwu.edu
 
Molecular neuroendocrinology
Dr. Carly Jordan
Carly Jordan

Assistant Professor of Biology
cnjordan@gwu.edu
 
Women's Leadership Program
Dr. John Lill
John Lill

Associate Professor of Biology
lillj@gwu.edu
 
Plant-insect interactions
Dr. Diana Lipscomb
Diana Lipscomb

Ronald Weintraub Professor of Biology
biodl@gwu.edu
 
Evolution of protozoa
Dr. Mollie Manier
Mollie Manier

Assistant Professor of Biology
manier@gwu.edu
 
Evolutionary consequences of adaptive variation in sperm and sperm storage organs 
Dr. Arnaud Martin
Arnaud Martin

Assistant Professor of Biology
arnaud@gwu.edu
 
Developmental genetics of wing patterning in passion-vine butterflies
Dr. Daoud Meerzaman
Daoud Meerzaman

Adjunct Professor of Biology
NCI, Director of Research and Development CBIIT
meerzamd@gwu.edu
 
Bioinformatic analyses of cancer genomes
Dr. Damien O'Halloran
Damien O'Halloran

Assistant Professor of Biology
damienoh@gwu.edu
 
Sensory plasticity and the role of sodium/calcium ion exchangers in the nervous system
Dr. Guillermo Orti
Louis Weintraub Professor of Biology
gorti@gwu.edu
 
Molecular systematics and phylogeography
Dr. Randall Packer
Randall Packer

Robert Weintraub Professor of Biology
rkp@gwu.edu
 
Regulation of blood pressure and electrolyte balance 
Dr. Scott Powell
Scott Powell 

Assistant Professor of Biology
scottpowell@gwu.edu
 
Community and evolutionary ecology, tropical biology, and ant biology
Dr. Alex Pyron
Alex Pyron

Robert F. Griggs Assistant Professor of Biology
rpyron@gwu.edu
 
Systematics of reptiles and amphibians 
Dr. Tara Scully
Tara Scully

Teaching Assistant Professor of Biology
tscully@gwu.edu
 
Repopulation of oysters and sea grasses in the Chesapeake Bay
Dr. Adam Smith
Adam Smith

Assistant Professor of Biology
adam_smith@gwu.edu
 
Animal behavior, bees, social insects, ecology and evolution, tropical biology
Dr. Courtney Smith
Professor of Biology
csmith@gwu.edu
 
Molecular evolution of immune systems
Dr. Richard Tollo
Richard Tollo

Professor of Biology
Director of Geological Sciences Program
rtollo@gwu.edu
 
Physical geology, petrology, minerology and geobotany
Dr. Amy Zanne
Amy Zanne

Associate Professor of Biology
azanne@gwu.edu
 
Plant physiology, ecology and evolution