Dr. Diana Lipscomb Receives Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Faculty Prize

May 22, 2017

The George Washington University held its seventh annual Faculty Honors Ceremony on Tuesday April 25th, 2017, celebrating faculty members for their work in teaching, research and service to the university, and our very own Dr. Diana Lipscomb won the Oscar and Shoshana Trachtenberg Faculty Prize for university service. Congratulations Dr. Lipscomb!!


Lipscomb Prize

Professor Lipscomb has exemplified extraordinary service to the university over many years since joining GW in 1982. Over her years at GW, Professor Lipscomb has served as Associate Dean of CCAS for Faculty and Research, Interim Dean of CCAS, two terms as the Chair of Biological Sciences, and has served on multiple Faculty Senate Committees. She was instrumental in establishing the Weintraub professorships and has informally directed the Department’s program in systematic biology. Professor Lipscomb also played a key role in securing the multi-million dollar Harlan Endowment that funded the construction and maintenance of a greenhouse in the Science and Engineering Hall, and 11 supports scholarships for numerous undergraduate and graduate students. What is most impressive is that while providing all these services to the university, Professor Lipscomb has maintained an active teaching load throughout her tenure, mentored numerous undergrad and graduate students, and provided stellar service outside the university as a program officer at NSF and as the editor of the journal Cladistics.